Close this search box.

NZDRA celebrates champions

5 July 2016

To celebrate the 2015–’16 NZDRA (New Zealand Drag Racing Association) Championship season, a prize-giving took place on June 25 at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Sponsored by Necksgen, manufacturers of world-class head and neck restraints, the night was a black-tie function, of which more than 200 people attended. 

To help entertain and inform all those present, Australian drag racing legend Victor Bray flew across for the night to act as guest speaker.

This year, the NZDRA Award of Merit went to Morice McMillin, for the many years he’s given to the sport, despite not currently driving on New Zealand soil.  

Another non-driver who managed to take home an award is long-time Masterton Motorplex commentator Gavin Doughty, who was awarded Sportsman of the Year, while Sportswoman of the Year was awarded to FED-driver Pauline Lane. 

Pauline and her partner Arran Brattle’s Team ‘Angry Azz Racing’ were also awarded Best Crew for the year, and Pauline and Arran also picked up third in the Modified class. 

Most Improved went to Ryan Sheldon for his efforts behind the wheel of ‘The Joker’ Chev Camaro.

Rookie of the Year went to Willys Coupe–driver Mark Gapp, well deserved some may say due to his wild wheelstands and impressive passes.

Also well deserved was the Life Membership granted to John Neilan a stalwart of NZDRA, and drag racing in New Zealand in general. 

NZDRA would like to extend their thanks to sponsors ProParts, Chicane Racewear, Century Batteries, Digga, Classic Cover Insurance, Inpro Group, Pirtek, Gourdie Automotive, and Action Tyres.