Close this search box.

Nine years of Morrinsville Motorama

19 February 2015

Last weekend saw the ninth annual running of what has become one of the biggest motoring events in the Waikato — Morrinsville Motorama. Organized by the members of Yankee Haulers car club, the event kicked off on Saturday, February 14 with a show and shine in the Moorhouse Street, Morrinsville car park.

Being Valentine’s Day, the first 20 ladies to arrive were given chocolates, which were received with much laughter. After the show and shine, the cars headed off for a leisurely cruise through the Waikato countryside to Cambridge and Te Poi, returning back for a prize-giving ceremony and a casual get together at the The Top Pub in Morrinsville, which was enjoyed by all.

The most popular event of the day was yet to happen though, and that was the drive-in movie, which started to fill up at 6pm, despite the screening not kicking off until 9pm. The weather couldn’t have been better, and the original The Fast and the Furious movie was a hit with everyone who parked up to view, as was the truck glow-off that followed.

The next day, February 15, was the big one though, and from our experience the second day provides one of the best-atmosphere events that you can attend.

The day kicked off at 7am with untold swappers heading through the gates of the venue, the Morrinsville Polo Grounds. At the same time, entertainment for the kids was inflated and food vendors started cooking their goods in anticipation of the huge crowds ahead.

The money collected from the event went to community services in Morrinsville, and while the totals are still being tallied up, we can assure you that the local community will be extremely grateful for Yankee Haulers’ efforts. 

All up, the day saw over 640 cars on display as well as 20 trucks and 40 motorbikes, providing something for everyone. One of the many highlights of the day was the Miss Retro Motorama competition, which was won by Hamilton’s Ceylene Callaghan.

Other prizes included:

  • Miss Morrinsville’s Choice:  Russell Camp — Holden Monaro
  • Best Car: Nigel Weber — 1897 Steam Car
  • Best Motorbike: Gavin Taylor — Big Dog
  • Stewart Memorial Trophy: Glen Ireland
  • Club Choice: Jackie Millar — Porter Haulage

Top five vehicles:

  • Kevin Smythe: ’57 Chev Bel Air
  • Martin Bennett: ’37 Ford Pickup
  • Steve Green: ’63 Special
  • Andrew Shaxon: Freightliner
  • Alan Bull: Mini